NOTE:  I’m not playing Legacy of Glory anymore, so this page has gone dormant.  I’m keeping it up here for benefit of any other LoG1 players that may still be out there.

This page is a sort of ‘living document’ of interpretations and other stuff for the Legacy of Glory Napoleonic rules written by Matt DeLaMater & company.  All discussion here relates to the first edition of the rules unless otherwise specified.

First things first:  if you don’t have the ‘Corrigenda’ page that was stuck in at least some of the later boxes you need to get ahold of it.  Lots of missing bits from the appendices and the combat resolution pages at the back of the book.  Many things make sense once you incorporate them. Also, astute readers will notice that there are multiple places in the charts that reference page numbers in the 119-125 range, yet the last numbered page in the rule book is 99. The higher page numbers refer to Appendix Three “Utilizing and Understanding the Game Tables.”

Here is a link to an article about grand tactical flanks in LoG (applicable to other rules as well).

Comments or differing opinions are welcome!  I’m not the rules author and as such would be happy to get a better understanding of things.

Legacy of Glory 2 (a.k.a.  Legacy of Glory: Thunder of Destiny”

Work has started on the second edition of Legacy of Glory.   Check out the Legacy of Glory Yahoo Group for the latest information.  Some playtest charts were released in February of 2010, and the last I had heard was that there would be a draft of the rules available in September of this year and a beta availble by the next HMGS Cold Wars.

Morale and the PQ Test

Units must take morale tests on the PQ chart (the ‘losses’ line) when they take their third hit from artillery or infantry fire and must test for every hit above the third one.  As far as I can tell this is the only time the morale chart is used.  (See rule 2.4.2 on page 17)

Rule 24.2.1 on page 78 indicates that PQ tests are taken during the artillery assessment phase only for Pre-Assault artillery, General (combat status?) Artillery or Artillery Assessment (i.e. engaged bombardment).  It is not taken for Reaction, Defensive Support or Self-Defense fire.   The wording is such that I believe Infantry Defensive Fire results do force PQ tests.

Rule 24.2.2 states that any GTF that has two or more infantry units retire, fall back or rout due to failed PQ tests must take an immediate Defense Assessment.

Discipline Checks

Rule 17.12 is covered on pages 65-66.   Keep in mind that the blue chart has some verbiage that does not appear in the rule book.

In all cases, the discipline check is taken rolling a d10 and in most cases hits on the unit count as negative modifiers and LRM bonuses count as positive ones.  The important thing to remember is that if you fail the discipline check,  the unit is immediately disordered.   This should suppress the desire for leaders to make lower quality troops do things in the heat of combat that require such tests.

There are ten different things you need to check discipline for.  Read up on them (pp. 65-66) for they can make a difference in the game.

Disorder

Disorder is another concept that is talked about a lot in the rules but isn’t summarized anywhere.  Disorder occurs as a result of combat or from failing a discipline check.    If a unit is disordered it has negative die roll modifiers for combat, PQ tests and discipline checks.

Disorder is removed the next time a TAC progresses to phase H.6 “Disorder Removal” unless the disordered unit is currently in contact with the enemy or streetfighting when that phase comes up.

The Reformation Area

The Reformation Area is the ‘penalty box’ for a GTF.  Once units are sent there they don’t come back until the following things happen:

  • The units in question have rallied (i.e. converted hits to casualties at the specified percentage).
  • The parent GTF is not in combat status.  It can still be engaged with an enemy GTF but not assualt or be assaulted by an enemy formation.  (See Rule 30.8 on page 98)
  • Note that in the post-repulse phase GTF’s that successfully see off an attacker can retrieve their units from the reformation area.  Also assaulting GTF’s that force the defense to retire/rout can then call up child units out of their reformation area as well.  (See Rules 21.6.4 & 21.6.5 on page 76)

In short, once a unit gets sent to the reformation area for any reason it won’t come out until it’s parent GTF leaves combat status one way or another.  As long as the GTF is in combat, it will be weakened by the lack of those units.

Cavalry – Fatigue, “Blown” and FML

Cavalry is a brittle instrument in the game.  Many of the combat results will leave one or both sides ‘fatigued.’  This gives them a negative combat modifier in all combats.  A fatigued unit that gets a second ‘fatigue’ result becomes ‘blown’ at which point not only does it get a nasty negative combat modifier but it also can do little but defend itself. (See Rule 20.5.3 on page 72)

Cavalry units can only attempt to recover from fatigued or blown status during the Rest Steps on TAC’s 2 & 5.  Full rules for recovery are listed in Rules 23 & 23.1 on Page 78.

Another thing to consider is FML for cavalry.  Most cavalry GTF’s start with an FML of 3 or 4.  A cavalry GTF loses a point of FML for every TAC that any unit in them charges or is charged.  (See Rule 2.4.1 on Page 16)  This gives a cavalry GTF a combat life of 3 or 4 TAC’s total.  Once a GTF’s FML reaches zero, it ceases to be an effective unit and all units of a cavalry GTF that reaches FML zero recall to a non-engaged position.  (See Rule 21.6.7 on page 76)

So, you need to husband your cavalry carefully and not throw it away on pointless attacks… unless you enjoy not having any useful cavalry.

Artillery Notes

Artillery ammo depletion happens any time you roll a natural 16 or higher (the target depends on the nature of the fire, see the artillery table for specifics) during any artillery assessment regardless of the type of fire or phase it happens in.   If you ‘intensive fire’ a battery it automatically becomes depleted.   See Rule 18.4.2 on page 68 for more details.

Like cavalry units and fatigue, a ‘depleted’ battery that rolls another depletion incurs ‘ammo loss.’  At this point the battery is out of ammo and needs to disengage to resupply.   To resupply the unit must be out of combat status when the Artillery Resupply phase occurs at the end of TAC’s 3 or 6.     (see Rule 24.4 on Page 79)

Needless to say, reserving some of your artillery (as was done in real life) will save you from being caught with degraded or zero artillery support in times of crisis.

If you just want to bombard the enemy for a while (say you are facing infantry entrenched in a town for example), the correct order to issue is ‘Advance to Contact.’   This allows you to engage the enemy and unlimber your guns without committing you to immediately assaulting fresh troops by townfighting, which is expensive in the game.

For artillery in combat, please refer to chart 17.9.12 on page 65.   If the battery is charged directly by enemy units, consult the chart to see what your options are.

Per rule 18.2.4 on page 67, all artillery fire at targets less than 6 inches away is considered ‘support fire’ and is resolved in the General Activity phase using the Defensive Support Fire box on the Tactical Combat Resolution (pink) chart.

On Grand Tactical Masses

Grand Tactical Masses are generally a very bad idea.  The definition is Rule 2.3.7 on page 15.  In short, two columns, squares or double lines (cavalry-only for this last one)  less than 1.5 inches apart or a unit of 20 or more figures in any formation other than line.  The main issue with this is that you get a -1 Hit Modifier on artillery assessment.   This hurts when you consider that moving from a normal hit modifier to the -1 class results in 50 percent more casualties. Note that the results are cumulative, so a grand tactical mass in closed colums takes both the -1 for being in a mass formation and another -1 for being in a GT mass, which means you take 200% normal casualties.  Ouch.

Last Updated: 01/23/2011 (artillery notes, disorder)

Advertisements

1 Response to “Legacy of Glory Commentary”


  1. 1 michael October 1, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Hey Bart
    I have just ordered LOG1 and am waiting for it to turn up on my doorstep. I am looking forward to jumping back into 15mm naps. I am also hoping to get a copy of LOG2 when it shows up. I have joined the yahoo group but am still waiting on the moderator to let me in.
    Thanks for the very helpful commentary on LOG1
    regards mick


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s




On the Painting Table

What I’m Reading

a

Blog Stats

  • 56,889 hits

%d bloggers like this: