Army Painter Inks

I stopped into one of the Twin Cities’ excellent game stores today while out on a hobby day with my son and picked up a few bottles of the new Army Painter “Warpaints” line.  Per a tip from Der Feldmarchall I picked up a bottle of AP’s inks that match their series of ‘Quickshade’ dips.  Since Games Workshop has seen fit to discontinue their old line of washes (including my much-beloved Devlan Mud) I’m keen to find a replacement and it sounds like these inks may just fit the bill.

I also picked up a bottle of AP’s “Daemonic Yellow” since I can always use another yellow-ish tone that can cover in only 1 or 2 coats.

Progress continues slowly on my Russian Napoleonics.  Spending the better part of a month out of town for work didn’t help matters much, and with summer now upon us that brings a whole other range of possible distractions (mostly spending nights on the porch watching the sun go down with a gin & tonic).  Now that Perry Miniatures has released their plastic Russian line infantry I’ll be placing an order for some of those in the next month or so.   Hopefully someone follows up with plastic Russian artillery since I’ll be needing those in mass quantities.

 

5 Responses to “Army Painter Inks”


  1. 1 Jason June 24, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    I’m glad I could help out with the washes, Bart. I wasted my last bottle of Devlan Mud not knowing it was being discontinued, so I really hope these AP ones work the same magic.

    I’d really like to order a few boxes of those Russian infantry too since I plan to have at least a brigade to use along with my Prussians. I was on the Perry Miniatures site today and saw that their Austrian plastic infantry is not too far off. (Oh noes!!)

    Although I’ll always have a spot for Blucher’s boys, my first choice for a Napoleonic project probably would be doing 1809 Austrians and French. Second would be the 1812 campaign. Which leaves my Prussians the odd men out, but I’m hoping to design whatever armies I end up painting so I can use them 1809/10ish to 1814. Maybe even design a fictional Polish campaign, or something heretical like that.

    We’ll have to link up talk some Napoleonics some time. In the meantime, good luck on your projects.

    Cheers,
    Jason

    • 2 Bart June 24, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      Hey Jason,

      The Perry figures are fabulous. I hope they make some skirmishers soon, and I could see myself cranking out French & Austrians too, either from Perry or the Victrix figures which are also nice IMO.

      I have a soft spot for 1809 as well. When I was a kid I’d head down to the old Little Tin Soldier Shoppe in South Minneapolis and buy copies of Minaiture Wargames & the old, black & white Empires, Eagles & Lions, which featured regular battle reports that were almost always set in the early stages of the 1809 campaign. The cartoons that accompanied them (by Mike Gilbert) were great fun to read as well.

      We’ll definitely have to meet for a beer or two and talk at some point. Check your email soon.

      Best,

      Bart

      • 3 Jason June 24, 2012 at 9:07 pm

        “Check your email soon. ”

        Are you sending me something in the near future or are you referring to a previous message?? Just curious.

      • 4 Bart June 24, 2012 at 9:48 pm

        Doh! My work/travel schedule is somewhat random so I was going to check my work email in the morning and then send you a note to see if there was a time & date in the next few weeks where we could meet up somewhere in the middle between your home and mine to meet for a beer or two and chat.

      • 5 Jason June 24, 2012 at 10:06 pm

        OK, gotcha! 😉


Leave a Reply

On the Painting Table

28mm Perry French Dragoons
13
40% Done

28mm Perry Confederate Zouaves (Coppens')
24
50% Done

28mm Sash and Saber Russian Napoleonic Infantry
24
5% Done

Warhammer 40K Kroot
19
DONE

Warhammer 40K Tau Pathfinders
9
10% Done

a

Blog Stats

  • 56,250 hits

