Plans for 2011

It’s been way too long since I’ve posted something here.  Family life and work have been very busy this winter and it doesn’t show many signs of letting up.

Looking to this year I can see two main projects for me.  I’m continuing to work on my 15mm 1807 Russian Army for Legacy of Glory.   I’m about 1/2 done with the infantry for Dohkturov’s 7th division and then have three regiments of horse and some grubby cossacks to crank out.  Hopefully that will be completed this year, giving me a nice-sized army to play LoG with.  We continue playing the old rules and are slowly mastering them.  I’m still hopeful LoG2 will be released sometime this year, but if it doesn’t David and I both seem to be up to speed on the old set and between the two of us can run a game without issue.  We would like to get one or two more players to both contribute armies and become well-versed in the rules.  We’ll see what happens.

The other main project I see for myself is WWII.  I’m trying to reconnect with some old friends and hopefully we can decide on a 20mm WWII project for a company or battalion-level game.  Rules and campaigns are still up for debate. Stay tuned.

The last thing I’ve been pondering recently is how to turn this loose affiliation of gamers that meet every month or two into a slightly more formal club.   It’s not easy to do; I tried running a formal game club years ago and it didn’t last long.  My main goal this time would be to get a few more people actively painting troops and learning the rules so we can play a variety of games without relying on one or two people to bring figures.  I’m looking for more gaming ‘producers’ and less ‘consumers’ I guess.

In the meantime we continue to schedule games.  Legacy of Glory and Johnny Reb 2 for ACW have been the recent fare, but newcomer Dave B. has floated the idea of 28mm Sword and the Flame and that sounds like a hoot.  We’ll have to see what we can rustle up for games this year.

0 Responses to “Plans for 2011”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

On the Painting Table

What I’m Reading

a

Blog Stats

  • 56,699 hits

