Something New: Force on Force

I ordered a copy of  “Force on Force” from Ambush Alley Games yesterday.   I had previously downloaded the free version of Ambush Alley and liked the ideas, so I thought I’d spring for a copy of FOF with an eye to some World War II and maybe some modern/near-future gaming.   It’s a busy week (when isn’t it?) so I haven’t had a chance to peruse the PDF versions I received, but based on the feedback I’ve seen on the web and the AA rules that they’re based on, I’m looking forward to them.

I’m going to slowly accumulate some 20mm WWII figures for running some small games.   It will be a nice diversion from Napoleonics and it may be something I can interest my son in playing a few years from now (he’s 7).    I figure when I get bored with painting too many white straps and shako cords I can switch and do some figures in camouflage to mix things up a bit.  With winter coming on we’re getting back to what I consider to be prime time painting season.  With much less outdoor work to be done, I’ll have a few more hours a month for painting.  Mixing in a few platoons of 20mm WWII figs shouldn’t be hard.

I may also pick up PDF copies of Rapid Fire 2nd Edition and some of their supplements as well for a quick & dirty larger games.

Closed circuit to Chris S.:  Answer your damn email!  😉

7 Responses to “Something New: Force on Force”


  1. 1 Jeff Knudsen October 1, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I just got this, too. After the first read-through, my impression is that it has lots of potential.

    I’m not really interested in modern scenarios, but you can expect Force on Force WWII to show up on the Centurions schedule in the future.

    Jeff (no, not that Jeff, the Other Jeff)

  2. 2 Bart October 1, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Hi Jeff,

    Thanks for your comment.

    I’m interested in modern skirmish combat from a technical/tactical standpoint, but having relatives in Iraq currently I have no interest in doing any Iraq/Afghanistan scenarios. I would look more at a Twilight 2000 or generic OPFOR game of some sort. For now WWII is the main focus.

    I’ll look forward to seeing what you’ve got cooking. What scale are you looking at for figures?

    • 3 Jeff Knudsen October 1, 2009 at 10:58 am

      Since the rules are designed around 15mm figures (and because I already have a bunch) I’ll start with those. If I like how it plays, I could easily see going up in scale, especially since I plan to stick with infantry actions. The vehicles at larger scales can get rather pricey, and tend to dominate the table; let’s face it . . . most of the tactical actions in WWII were fought without tanks.

      • 4 Bart October 2, 2009 at 9:24 am

        Yeah, I figure a short platoon of AFV’s is about the most I’d ever want to see in a game, considering it looks like reinforced companies are about as large as one can get without venturing into monster game status. The rules are designed to function in closer terrain where the ‘shy fat boys’ were loathe to go. 🙂

        I’ll be ordering some 20mm figures later this month and start adding them to the painting rotation.

  3. 5 Joe October 2, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Yay, 15mm. I have a large collection of WWII US GIs, and also some Paras.

    🙂

    (In case I find time outside of Napoleonic Command that is.)

  4. 6 Mike R October 3, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I like the Valiant WWII plastics a lot. But if you go that route, you’re locked into their figures, since they’re a scale unto themselves.

  5. 7 Bart October 3, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Hi Mike,

    Yeah the Valiant figs look nice, but they are in a scale of their own, and it appears that production of new figures has stalled as the company focuses more on the Victrix Napoleonics.

    Right now I’m looking to get samples from Warmodelling, Blitz, Kelly’s Heroes and Sgt. Major’s miniatures to start.


Leave a Reply

On the Painting Table

What I’m Reading

a

Blog Stats

  • 56,699 hits

