Painting Update

The AB figures are a joy to paint.  This new style I’m using works very well on these figures, for the sculpting is smooth with a minimum of creases and whatnot that would break up the solid colors.

I’ve had probably five or six 60-90 minute sessions into these figures so far and they are somewhere around half done with the actual painting.  According to the progress chart I use on this site, once the figures are fully painted but not based I gauge that at around 85-90% done.   I need to order new bases from Litko, and since they seem to ship via slow boat (from Indiana no less) these figs won’t be fully done until sometime in October.   That said, I expect to be done with the actual painting sometime this weekend.  Then it will be time to clean up the next regiment.

The main difference with this new painting style is the need for precise brush control.  It’s still a work in progress for me, but I’m finding I can do very fine detail with a size ‘0’ brush as long as the point stays together.  I have yet to use anything smaller.   The main issues I’m having right now are color coverage with the brighter colors (white especially) over the dark grey base, and I’m also having fun trying to show the natural folds in the clothing.  Over time it will get better.

Once this unit is painted I’ll fiddle around with my wife’s digital SLR and try to get some nice pictures posted.  So far, I think it’s safe to say that I’m very happy with the way things are turning out.  If I can crank out around a brigade per month with this style, that will be awesome.

2 Responses to “Painting Update”


  1. 1 Joe September 10, 2009 at 11:54 am

    That better not be a disparaging remark about Indiana. 😉


Leave a Reply

On the Painting Table

What I’m Reading

a

Blog Stats

  • 56,699 hits

