Finally… A Game Table

I’ve been active in the miniature wargaming hobby off & on for 25 years or more.  In all that time I’ve never had a proper table in my house or apartment.  At best I could make use of a dining room table that was maybe 3 feet across at most.  Since this was not adequate for most of the game systems I was interested in, I’ve had to play games at other peoples’ houses or at game stores for the entire time I’ve been involved in the hobby.   Now this isn’t a bad thing in and of itself, but recently this has meant that if I want to play games, I need to leave the house, and with small kids this requires a fair bit of advance planning as well as some luck seeing as I have a busy family schedule.    

Now that I’m getting back into the hobby again, I’ve decided that one of the first orders of business should be getting ready to host games at my place.  As a first step in that direction, I’ve now acquired a gaming table.  It’s actually a pair of 8 by 2.5 foot tables, giving me an 8×5 game space for now.  Eventually I may acquire some additional tables to expand the width of the table to 12 or even 16 feet.  I am blessed with a large and open basement, so I will be able to expand if needed.   

Next steps will be terrain.  I’m looking at making some terrain boards out of the foam play tiles or floor mats.  There’s as small set of those up at the Source that look really good, and they are both fairly inexpensive to make and lightweight to store.  A similar project can be seen here.  I haven’t made a full terrain setup before, so this will be a learning experience.  I’ll post pictures in time as I start getting some projects going.

3 Responses to “Finally… A Game Table”


  1. 1 Joe Knight May 3, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    I cannot wait to engage in a double evelopment to your ruin while enjoying the hospitality of your abode. 🙂 lol

  2. 2 Jeff Knudsen May 11, 2009 at 11:13 am

    If you decide to do your terrain in the same style as the tiles at The Source (they are mine, by the way) and you want some hints and tips on the technique, feel free to contact me. I know a little bit about it, since I invented the method.

    • 3 Bart May 11, 2009 at 11:48 am

      Thanks Jeff, I’ve played a few games on the tiles and they are both attractive and durable with still being lightweight. Expect an email sometime in the fairly near future. 🙂


Leave a Reply

On the Painting Table

What I’m Reading

a

Blog Stats

  • 56,699 hits

